Council of Ministers

(29th Meeting)

14th November 2024

Part A (Non-Exempt)

All members were present, with the exception of Deputy I.J. Gorst of St. Mary, St. Ouen and St. Peter, Minister for External Relations, from whom apologies had been received.

Deputy L.J. Farnham of St. Mary, St. Ouen and St. Peter, Chief Minister (for part of item A1)

Connétable R. Vibert of St. Peter, Minister for Children and Families

Connétable A.N. Jehan of St. John, Minister for Infrastructure

Deputy C.F. Labey of Grouville and St. Martin, Minister for International Development

Deputy S.G. Luce of Grouville and St. Martin, Minister for the Environment Deputy K.F. Morel of St. John, St. Lawrence and Trinity, Minister for Sustainable Economic Development

Deputy M.R. Le Hegarat of St. Helier North, Minister for Justice and Home Affairs (for part of item A1)

Deputy R.J. Ward of St. Helier Central, Minister for Education and Lifelong Learning

Deputy S.Y. Mézec of St. Helier South, Minister for Housing

Deputy L.V. Feltham of St. Helier Central, Minister for Social Security

Deputy M.E. Millar of St. John, St. Lawrence and Trinity, Minister for Treasury and Resources

Deputy T.J.A. Binet of St. Saviour, Minister for Health and Social Services

In attendance -

Connétable A.S. Crowcroft of St. Helier, Assistant Chief Minister

Deputy M.R. Ferey of St. Saviour, Assistant Chief Minister

Deputy A. Howell of St. John, St. Lawrence and Trinity, Assistant Minister for Health and Social Services

Deputy M.R. Scott of St. Brelade, Assistant Minister for Sustainable Economic Development

Deputy B. Ward of St. Clement, Assistant Minister for Health and Social Services

M.H. Temple, K.C., H.M. Attorney General

L.-M. Hart. Greffier of the States

Dr. A. McLaughlin, Interim Chief Executive and Head of the Public Service, Government of Jersey

R. Bell, Treasurer of the States

R. Summersgill, Comptroller of Taxes, Treasury and Exchequer

P. Wylie, Group Director of Policy, Cabinet Office

A. Hacquoil, Group Director - Strategic Finance, Treasury and Exchequer

S. Duhamel, Director, Cabinet Office

Dr. A. Muller, Director of Improvement and Innovation, Health and Community Services Department

T. Daniels, Director Jersey Property Holdings, Infrastructure, Housing and Environment Department

C. May, Head of Communications, Cabinet Office

- N. Day, Head of Strategic Housing and Regeneration, Cabinet Office
- P. Bradbury, Head of Ministerial Office
- B. Markwell-Sales, Business and Governance Officer to the Council of Ministers
- T. Mourant, Private Secretary to the Chief Minister
- K.L. Slack, Senior Secretariat Officer, States Greffe

Note: The Minutes of this meeting comprise Part A only

Proposed Budget (Government Plan) 2025-2028. A1. The Council, with reference to its Minute No. B2 of 5th November 2024, received and noted a PowerPoint presentation in connexion with amendments to the proposed Budget (Government Plan) 2025-2028 (P.51/2024 referred) and deliberated on the financial context and impact of the same.

The Council considered the various amendments at length and discussed whether it wished to lodge amendments or present comments in relation thereto. It was agreed to delegate final approval for such amendments or comments to Deputies L.J. Farnham of St. Mary, St. Ouen and St. Peter and M.E. Millar of St. John, St. Lawrence and Trinity, Chief Minister and Minister for Treasury and Resources, together with the relevant Minister or Ministers, as applicable.